

May 1, 2015

Ex Parte Notice

Ms. Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20554

RE: Connect America Fund, WC Docket No. 10-90; Universal Service Contribution Methodology, WC Docket No. 06-122

Dear Ms. Dortch:

On Wednesday, April 29, 2015, the undersigned and Joshua Seidemann, on behalf of NTCA—The Rural Broadband Association ("NTCA"), together with Derrick Owens and Gerry Duffy on behalf of WTA-Advocates for Rural Broadband ("WTA"), Jeff Dupree of the National Exchange Carrier Association, Inc. ("NECA"), Robert DeBroux of TDS Telecom, Trey Judy of Hargray, Denny Law of Golden West Telecommunications, and Keith Oliver of Home Telecom met with Carol Mattey, Steve Rosenberg, Ryan Palmer, Ted Burmeister, Alexander Minard, Doug Slotten, Gilbert Smith, Joe Sorresso, Suzanne Yelen, and David Zesiger of the Wireline Competition Bureau to discuss issues presented in the above-referenced proceedings.

Specifically, we discussed and answered questions from staff with respect to the most recent set of materials submitted by NTCA, WTA, and NECA regarding their Data Connection Support proposal. *See Ex Parte* Letter from Michael R. Romano, Senior Vice President-Policy, NTCA, to Marlene H. Dortch, Secretary, Commission, WC Docket No. 10-90 (filed April 21, 2015). We explained how the proposal is intended to enable consumer choice for and among voice and broadband service offerings, why it represents the simplest and most straightforward way to update existing mechanisms without causing confusing or significant disruption within those mechanisms while also adhering to budget targets established by the Federal Communications Commission (the "Commission"), and what further changes with respect to potential operating expense caps and the proposed Capital Budget Mechanism component of the DCS proposal might be warranted to ensure any reforms enable effective and efficient distribution of universal service support.

Marlene H. Dortch May 1, 2015 Page 2 of 2

Thank you for your attention to this correspondence. Pursuant to Section 1.1206 of the Commission's rules, a copy of this letter is being filed via ECFS.

Sincerely,

/s/ Michael R. Romano Michael R. Romano Senior Vice President – Policy

cc: Carol Mattey
Steve Rosenberg
Ryan Palmer
Ted Burmeister
Alexander Minard
Doug Slotten
Gilbert Smith
Joe Sorresso
Suzanne Yelen
David Zesiger